History of The Pilchard Works
The Pilchard Works was the last remaining Cornish cured fish factory. Trading as British Cured Pilchards Ltd it ceased production in 2005 thereby breaking a tradition that had seen the company export its traditional products to the same family in Italy since 1905.
In 1994 part of the original granite building complex was converted into a museum to tell the story of pilchard fishing and processing in Cornwall. Visitors were able to see the production of salt cured fish and, in the adjoining museum, see a fascinating combination of social, artistic and industrial scenes depicted in paintings, photos and artifacts. Inside the pressing room they experienced the full flavour of sights, smells and noise of a fish factory unchanged in operation since the 1800s.
A National Award winner, the museum was visited by HRH Prince Charles in